Farewell to Futbol en Vivo

Futbol En Vivo was a bilingual radio program that aired every Tuesday from 1-2pm on 91.7 FM KOOP Radio in Austin, Texas. Work and family commitments of the hosts recently prompted them to halt the weekly show after nearly seven years on the air.

The program started in mid-2009 with Chilean David Alvarez and Mexican Jose de Loera as hosts. De Loera, current proprietor of Takoba, was unable to continue as host due to his Takoba obligations, so Alvarez, after several months, was introduced to local soccer writer Arch Bell, who eventually became co-host and took over as lead programmer in 2010 once Alvarez began a new job. In was in that time that both American Kit McConnico and Argentine Claudio Ostrovich became contributors and co-hosts, with Mexican Jorge Iturralde also becoming a regular member of the program in 2012 until the show’s conclusion in January 2016.

Futbol En Vivo was fortunate to have many great guests over the years:

Austin Aztex 1.0

  • Adrian Heath
  • Jamie Watson
  • Jay Needham
  • Sam Brill
  • Yordany Alvarez
  • Miguel Gallardo

Austin Aztex 2.0

  • David Markley
  • Paul Dalglish
  • Manny Buentello
  • Chuy Cortes
  • Andres Cuero
  • Kris Tyrpak
  • Leone Cruz
  • Devan Perales

Notable Men’s Players

  • Fernando Torres (taped)
  • Giuseppe Rossi (taped)
  • Eric Abidal (taped)
  • Gonzalo Higuain (taped)
  • Chicharito Hernandez (taped)
  • Charlie Davies (phone)
  • Carlo Costly (phone)

Notable Women’s Players

  • Abby Wambach (taped)
  • Sydney Leroux (phone)
  • Lauren Holiday (phone)
  • Linda Hamilton (1991 WWC winner) in studio.

Journalists & Authors

  • Grant Wahl (Sports Illustrated)
  • Ives Galarcep (SoccerByIves)
  • Jeff Carlisle (ESPN FC)
  • Jason Davis (Soccer Morning, ESPN FC)
  • Leander Schaerlaeckens (freelance)
  • Robert Andrew Powell (author, This Love Is Not For Cowards)
  • Ramiro Aldunate (MARCA)
  • Angel Liceras (MARCA)
  • Javier Estepa (MARCA)
  • Bobby McMahon (Fox Soccer Report)
  • Phil Schoen (beIN Sport)
  • Jeremy St. Louis (Fox Soccer report/beIN Sport)
  • Salvador Aguilera (ESTO; also Mexico’s Ballon d’Or media voter)


  • Matthew Gray (benevolent overlord of Eberly’s Army)
  • Jens Busch (Austin Blues)
  • Lanny Short (Man United superfan)
  • Brent Atema (Formerly of Global Football Today, futbol and beer expert)
  • Jeff Burns and Ric Granryd (Austin Aztex 2.0 staff)
  • Miguel Basualdo (Pumas superfan)
  • Checo Hernandez (Club America superfan)
  • Jesse Gutierrez (Monterrey superfan)
  • Stephen Rodriguez (former MLS manager of communications)

I am likely leaving out a few others who immediately do not come to mind, but certainly special thanks to co-hosts David Alvarez, Kit McConnico, Claudio Ostrovich and Jorge Iturralde for all their dedication and collaboration over the last six-and-a-half years.

Thanks to Arch Bell for this guest post. See the archives of Futbol en Vivo.

Have anything you’d like to publish on Violet Crown Soccer Network? Let us know.